Sobrarbe. Shire (Comarca) of Aragon. Information about Aragon. maps
Aragon in English > Information about Aragon

Sobrarbe. Shire (Comarca) of Aragon. Aragon. Spain

Data from the county.

County NameMunicipalitiesSurface
Census 2002
Total Aragon73047,719.201,217,514


Situation Map Comarca de Sobrarbe within Aragon

Municipalities that comprise it.

La Fueva.
El Pueyo de Araguas.
San Juan de Plan.

Details of the region of Sobrarbe in Aragon

The Sobrarbe is the most unknown and least documented territory of the three counties that formed Aragón. History has contributed to the isolation of the region since no road Roman was crossing the Pyrenean valleys of Sobrarbe, nor is it known that Muslims tried to cross it. Only the Zinca river allowed a communication access to Boltaña and L'Ainsa.

On its northern border, communications are very complicated. The massifs Tres Sorores, Mon Perdiu, Comachibosa, Posets-Llardana, the interior mountain ranges of Tendereña, Costiel or Ordesa make communication routes difficult.

The redolada (district) of Sobrarbe is located north of the province of Uesca. It coincides with the basins of Ara and l'alto Zinca. Its limits are: to the north France, to the south the mountains of Guara,   Sibil and Olson, to the east the Ribagorza and to the west the Alto Galligo.

L'Ainsa-Sobrarbe, with 1,427 inhabitants is the most populated municipality. However, there is no urban center in the whole region that exceeds one thousand inhabitants, because L'Ainsa-Sobrarbe It was formed by the grouping of several municipal terms and covers sixteen villages.   Boltaña and L'Ainsa are the nuclei of the county seat.

In this region there are two mancomunidades: the most important is that of Sobrarbe that groups 19 municipalities. Chisten, Plan, San Chuan de Plan and Tella-Sin form the commonwealth of Bal de Chistau.

Note: the description text of the region has been extracted from the magazine "L'Ausin".

More information

County of Aragon.
Ley 8/1996, district delimitation of Aragon.
LEY 23/2001, de 26 de diciembre, Measures of regionalization.
Ley 10/1993, of regionalization.
Administrative Divisions in Aragon.

Aragon Road Map.
Huesca province.
Other maps of Aragon.

Ample your information on Aragon

If you want to extend your information on Aragon you can begin crossing another interesting route is the Mudejar, Patrimony of the Humanity, also you can extend your cultural knowledge on Aragon examining its municipal and institutional heraldry without forgetting, of course, some of its emblematics figures as Saint George Pattern of Aragon also book of Aragon.

Also Aragon enjoys a diverse and varied Nature where passing by plants, animals or landscapes we can arrive at a fantastic bestiario that lives in its monuments.

The information will not be complete without a stroll by its three provinces: Zaragoza, Teruel and Huesca and his shines, with shutdown in some of its spectacular landscapes like Ordesa, the Moncayo or by opposition the Ebro.

Also you can dedicarte to the intangible ones: from the legend compilation that also does to universal Aragon you can persecute the presence of del Santo Grial in Aragon.

Huesca | Teruel | Zaragoza | Aragon | Maps |
Fauna | Flora | Geology | Fungi |
Tourism | Mudejar | Goya | Alphabetical Index | Thematic

Shire, County boundaries, Region. Comarca, Situation, map, Administrative Divisions of Aragon, Measures of regionalization, Province Huesca

Copyright 1996-2022 © All Rights Reserved Javier Mendivil Navarro, Aragon (Spain)

Explanations or to correct errors please press here

Legal Warning . This activity of the Asociacion Cultural Aragon Interactivo y Multimedia
All administration or public institution is made independently off.
As opposed to the threat of the hope of the water trasvase: CONGRATULATIONS.